Top 5 Wednesday: Books I’m Thankful For

Top 5 Wednesday: Top 5 Books I’m Thankful For

Top 5 Wednesday was created by the lovely gingerreadslainey and today’s topic is books you’re thankful for!

Honourable Mentions

The Fault in our Stars by John Green

The_Fault_in_Our_Stars

While this isn’t my favourite John Green book, I’m definitely thankful for it. It completely changed my views on people with illnesses. PEOPLE ARE NOT THEIR ILLNESSES.

Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma

cvr9781442419964_9781442419964_hr

This book changed my view of the world. It makes you question what you believe and what you’re told to believe. I HIGHLY recommend it!

  1. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Hungergames_poster

This book series made reading not only fun for me, but everyone around me and I am so thankful for it! It was great talking to people who had read the same book as me for once! Also, the movies have been a great experience for me! So far, I’ve gone to watch these movies in theatres every year they’ve come out. I haven’t seen the last one yet, but I’m definitely excited to!

  1. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

411MJMpTseL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I’m pretty sure I listened to the audiobook of this when I was in sixth grade but I’m so glad that I did. This book completely changed my perspective on suicide and how you treat others. I highly recommend the audiobook of this novel—it’s FANTASTIC! I was crying for a good hour after I finished it.

  1. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Throne-of-glass-cover

If you were to ask me at the beginning of 2014 if I liked fantasy, I would’ve laughed in your face. I had never read a fantasy book, and I wasn’t planning on reading any fantasy books. But then I decided to pick up Throne of Glass. I actually almost stopped reading this book when I was about 10% through the novel because everything was confusing me! Thank goodness I didn’t though; because of this book, fantasy is one of my favourite genres and Throne of Glass is one of my favourite books!

  1. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

cinder

I owe Cinder SO much. It’s the book that got me back into reading. When I started high school, I was swamped with homework and I barely had any free time to do anything. Also, I wasn’t hearing about many books at that time; I had already read all of the popular books when I was in elementary school. So, I thought I was done with reading. But then I discovered book-tube and EVERYONE was talking about Cinder and Scarlet. Those books sounded so good that I actually made my dad take me to the library the next day and I got both Cinder and Scarlet and read them both in a day! If it weren’t for Cinder, I wouldn’t be a reader anymore. I can’t even think about where my life would be if I hadn’t started reading again!

  1. A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

The_Bad_Beginning

This series not ONLY got me into reading as a hobby, it also made me realize that books can make you feel SO many emotions—good and bad. I remember staying up until three in the morning reading the second book while bawling my little eyes out! It was a great time! This series also taught me that I know what I want to read. My dad tried so hard to convince me that I wouldn’t like this series; he didn’t even let me check it out from my library! Being the little rebel I was, I got the first book from my library and read it all in one night. If I hadn’t have done that, I’m positive I wouldn’t be the reader that I am today and I am SO thankful for that!

Comment down below books that you’re thankful for!

Leave a Reply

