Siege and Storm REVIEW

Siege and Storm Review and Discussion

RATING
8.5/10

IF YOU HAVEN’T READ SHADOW AND BONE YET, THEN CLICK HERE OR YOU’RE GOING TO GET SPOILED!

SYNOPSIS

Hunted across the True Sea, haunted by the lives she took on the Fold, Alina must try to make a life with Mal in an unfamiliar land. She finds starting new is not easy while keeping her identity as the Sun Summoner a secret. She can’t outrun her past or her destiny for long.

The Darkling has emerged from the Shadow Fold with a terrifying new power and a dangerous plan that will test the very boundaries of the natural world. With the help of a notorious privateer, Alina returns to the country she abandoned, determined to fight the forces gathering against Ravka. But as her power grows, Alina slips deeper into the Darkling’s game of forbidden magic, and farther away from Mal. Somehow, she will have to choose between her country, her power, and the love she always thought would guide her–or risk losing everything to the oncoming storm.

NON-SPOILER THOUGHTS

I went into this series thinking I was going to be blown away. I thought that the characters were going to be amazing, the story was going to be action-packed, and the villain was going to be epic. I mean, when have you NOT heard someone say that they love The Darkling? I wasn’t that big of a fan of Shadow and Bone. The characters were okay and I wasn’t that impressed by The Darkling but I still found the book entertaining. Siege and Storm was definitely better than Shadow and Bone for me, but it still isn’t one of my favourites. I grew kind of annoyed with both Alina and Mal in this book. I enjoyed The Darkling more in this book, but he still isn’t one of my favourite characters. The world of this series was phenomenal and I enjoyed it more in this book rather than the first and I really like the folklore in this series, it’s actually very interesting! For me, the saving grace of this book was the new characters: Tamar, Tolya, and especially Nikolai. Nikolai is now one of my favourite characters! He’s so complex and cool and he’s a PIRATE. That sounds like an A-plus character to me! I really liked the twins as well. They are also pretty complex characters. Something about Alina and Mal just bore me and I’m starting to find this problem a lot in books—including the one I’m writing for NaNoWriMo. I tend to grow so much more attached to my side characters and forget to develop the amazing main characters I already have. In Siege and Storm I don’t think this was the case, but I still found myself more attached to the side characters. Overall, I still highly enjoyed this read and I’m planning on finishing this trilogy before the year ends!

SPOILERS UP AHEAD

Okay opening of this book did put me off a little because it was just Alina and Mal in some random town. But that all changed when The Darkling arrived and thank goodness for that! I was so scared that the majority of the book was going to take place in that city!

I liked The Darkling better in this book. The whole scene where he captures Mal and Alina was great!

I’d heard people talking about Nikolai being a pirate before I read this book, so I was kind of confused when Sturmhond popped out of nowhere and was a pirate. I mean, I did guess that he was Nikolai but I had no clue he was going to be a prince!

Alina and the whole Saint thing was weird. People are worshipping a TEENAGER. I know I have to extend my belief, but I still can’t buy into that. This whole storyline just made me feel a little uncomfortable, especially with the Apparat thrown into the mix (Who even likes the Apparat? He makes me so uncomfortable).

Is it bad that I like Nikolai over every other character in this book series? He’s super complex, he’s funny, and he’s a pirate. Need I say more? I loved the scene where everyone was in his flying ship. I want a flying ship!

I really liked Tamar and Tolya as well. Though, I think I liked them better before we found out that they were working with the creepy Apparat…

I did not like Mal in this book. I mean, I didn’t really like him in the first book either, but I really didn’t like him in this book. I got where he was coming from and I understand why he was being such a douche canoe, but I still didn’t really like him.

I also didn’t really like Alina in this book. She starts to become a bit power hungry, but I didn’t think it fit her character at all. If she wanted power, you would think that she would be happy about having so many people supporting her. Her character just really confused me in this book.

That stupid Prince! I forget his name but I HATED him even more than The Darkling. He was so whiny and pompous; I can’t get over how much I hate him. To make things worse, he decides to side with the enemies that DON’T GUARENTEE IMMEDIATE BACK UP! Even I’M smart enough not to fall for that! I hate him and I’m not even sad that his arms got ripped out of their sockets.

After that whole scene, the book got a LOT better (It would have been better if Nikolai stuck around…). I was rooting for Alina and the Grisha to beat the nichevo’ya and I was devastated when basically all of them died. ALMOST ALL OF THEM DIED!

The showdown between The Darkling and Alina was awesome! I kind of wanted to Alina to go super dark and turn into a crazy villain and destroy everyone when she decided to join The Darkling—if you’re going to go evil, go all out. But then, they kissed and Alina starts to take his power. I didn’t find that solution all that great. It felt a bit like a cop out to me. I REALLY wished she went dark.

Another reason I hate Mal is because he stopped Alina from killing The Darkling. WHAT ARE YOU DOING, MAL? Alina was so close, but then YOU had to come and ruin everything!

ALINA CAN’T USE HER POWERS ANYMORE? This was such a shocker because she had already told Mal that she wouldn’t get rid of her powers, even if she could. What is going to happen in the next book?

PREDICTIONS FOR RUIN AND RISING

Alina is OBVIOUSLY getting her powers back.

Someone is going to die and I hope it’s either The Darkling or Mal. Just kidding, I hope it’s the Apparat! We NEED him dead now because I’m sick and tired of his creepiness.

I feel like we’re going to find out a lot more about Alina and Mal’s childhood. I bet Alina’s parents were killed by The Darkling.

Nikolai is GOING to be the King. He has to.

If Nikolai doesn’t have a big part in this book, I’m going to be VERY disappointed.

I hope I didn’t miss anything! Comment down below your thoughts on Siege and Storm!

One thought on “Siege and Storm REVIEW

  1. Pingback: November Wrap-Up |

Leave a Reply

