The Dream Thieves Review

The Dream Thieves Review and Discussion

17347389RATING

9.5/10

IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE RAVEN BOYS YET, THEN CLICK HERE OR YOU’RE GOING TO GET SPOILED!

SYNOPSIS

Ronan Lynch has secrets. Some he keeps from others. Some he keeps from himself.

One secret: Ronan can bring things out of his dreams.

And sometimes he’s not the only one who wants those things.

Ronan is one of the raven boys—a group of friends, practically brothers, searching for a dead king named Glendower, who they think is hidden somewhere in the hills by their elite private school, Aglionby Academy. The path to Glendower has long lived as an undercurrent beneath town. But now, like Ronan’s secrets, it is beginning to rise to the surface—changing everything in its wake.

NON-SPOILER THOUGHTS

I thought that The Dream Thieves was an AMAZING sequel to The Raven Boys. At the end of The Raven Boys, I wasn’t totally in love with all of the characters, but I can surely say that I am now! I loved the focus on Ronan’s character; he is definitely one of the most complex characters in this series. I also liked how there was no true villain is this book. In the first book, I really didn’t like the supposed villain…at all. But, Maggie Stiefvater took an interesting turn and made me somewhat sympathetic towards even the worst of the characters! Oh, I also kind of loved Noah in this book.

SPOILERS UP AHEAD

Ronan and his magic… Need I say more? I loved reading about Ronan going into the dream world and taking things from there. I was SO sure that he was going to take that girl out of his dreams! Instead, we got those creepy dream monsters which were terrifying! Also, I KNEW Ronan was going to crash the Camaro! I knew it! I actually held off reading that chapter because I knew it was going to happen! Ronan, why did you have to do that? Other than that one scene, I loved Ronan! I don’t really think I can pick a favourite raven boy because I love them all for such different reasons!

The Grey Man was SO much better than the villain from book one. At first, I thought I wasn’t going to like him. I mean, he’s a hit man. But then I started to sympathize with him and now I want The Grey Man and Maura to get together! They are so cute!

Speaking of Maura, what the hell was that ending? Was she taken like Neeve was? My first reaction was that she may be in the caves with Glendower, but I’m not so sure. I guess we know she won’t be dead because there is NO way that she could be dead…

My absolute favourite scene of this book was when Noah and Blue kissed. It was heartwarming and heart wrenching at the same time! Noah is dead and he’ll probably never kiss anyone ever again and Blue won’t ever be able to kiss her true love… It was so beautifully sad that I actually teared up, and I don’t really cry while reading anymore!

Adam really redeemed himself to me in this book. I found that I connected with his character a lot more and all the Cabeswater stuff was really cool and creepy. Okay, well I guess he didn’t fully redeem himself because he was kind of REALLY annoying when he went to Washington with Gansey. For that whole section, I wanted to punch him or at least knock some sense into him! But after that, he started to grow on me. I think I’ll love Adam in the next book!

I haven’t talked about Kavinsky yet. Honestly, I don’t know how I feel about him. I know he’s a bad character, but he is SO interesting and I kind of liked the chemistry between him and Ronan. It was like Kavinsky’s character was amplified ten times when Ronan was around!

Also, Ronan is gay and I didn’t catch it until. It was blatantly stated. Looking back, I probably could’ve seen it coming, but I wasn’t expecting it. It was a nice surprise, though!

Another thing I didn’t catch onto was Ronan and Adam, or Pynch! I’m so stupid! I mean, Ronan paid the rent for Adam I should’ve seen it coming! I’m going to look out for it in Blue Lily, Lily Blue I promise!

The ship I was looking out for was Bluesy and this book did not disappoint! I really wanted them kiss, it would’ve been the perfect time for them to kiss! STUPID CURSE!

The only main problem I had with this book was the ending. I didn’t really like the whole giant monster fight and then Kavinsky died on top of that. I don’t know, that all just didn’t settle with me. The part of the ending that I did like, however, was when we find out that Ronan’s mom was from his dad’s dream and the gang takes her back to Cabeswater. That part made me so happy for Ronan!

I hope I didn’t miss anything! Comment down below your thoughts on The Dream Thieves!

One thought on “The Dream Thieves Review

  1. Pingback: October Wrap-Up |

Leave a Reply

