Top 5 Wednesday: Authors I Discovered This Year

Top 5 Wednesday: Authors I Discovered This Year

Top 5 Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey! I’m really excited to do this topic! Check out my last Top 5 Wednesday here!

Honourable Mentions

Patrick Ness

22910900

Check out my review for The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness here!

Earlier this year, I tried to read More Than This by Patrick Ness, but I couldn’t get into it. Then, I received an ARC for The Rest of Us Just Live Here and I absolutely loved it! I’m really excited to pick up more of his books, and I’m contemplating on trying to read More Than This again.

Nicola Yoon

18692431

Check out my review for Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon here!

Another ARC I received this year was Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. I ended up LOVING this book. I’m planning on reading everything else that Nicola Yoon ever publishes.

  1. Rainbow Rowell

15745753

Check out my review for Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell here!

I just finished Eleanor and Park and I cannot understand how I never read a Rainbow Rowell book. I am definitely reading Fangirl in the near future!

  1. Morgan Rhodes

17465467

Check out my review for the Falling Kingdoms series by Morgan Rhodes here!

I read Morgan Rhodes ‘ Falling Kingdoms series this year and its actually the reason I started this blog! I love those books SO much and I still can’t believe I haven’t read A Book of Spirits and Thieves yet. I mean, it’s a fantasy and its set in Canada, what more can I ask for?

  1. J.K. Rowling

bloomsbury-ps-front2

I know, I know. Why isn’t J.K. Rowling number one? Well, I’ve only read the first 2 books so far and even though I LOVED them, they do feel a bit juvenile for me. Of course, after I’m done the whole series I’m going to look at this and think I’m crazy so look out for that!

These last two authors are basically interchangeable, so ignore the numbers!

  1. Susan Ee

images

Check out my review for the Penryn and the End of Days trilogy by Susan Ee here!

I freaking LOVE Susan Ee. I binge read the whole entire Penryn and the End of Days trilogy over the summer and it was the best thing EVER! Anything Susan Ee writes, I WILL read.

  1. Maggie Stiefvater

Cover_ravenboys_300

Check out my review for The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater here!

So I read The Raven Boys and I think I’m in love. I love Maggie Stiefvater’s writing, her characters, the complexity of her stories, everything! While I know for a fact that I’m never going to read the Shiver series, I will say that I’m going to be picking up everything else she writes!

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Authors I Discovered This Year

    1. Well, I’ve tried to read the first book MULTIPLE times for years now, but I guess I wasn’t that motivated because I always found myself falling asleep while trying to read the it. I don’t know why, but for some reason I was really inspired to read the first book again over the summer. So I did and I LOVED it and now I like to look back and think about how crazy I was!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha its strange when that happens! I’m going to read it myself though. I hope I enjoy it as much as you did! I’ve been curious about the series for a long time but I thought it was MG for some reason? And at 23… you know. But I loved Percy Jackson so I don’t know what I’m talking about.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

