Top 5 Wednesday: Diverse Characters

Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Diverse Characters

Top 5 Wednesday was created by the lovely gingerreadslainey. This is my first time participating in Top 5 Wednesday and I’m SUPER excited!

Honourable mentions

Winter from The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

635616865883334429-Winter-3-10-15

I read the chapter samplers for Winter and I am already so in love with Winter as a character! Winter is a retelling of Snow White, where Snow White is black and a bit crazy. That already sounds AMAZING!

Penryn’s Mother from Penryn and the End of Days Trilogy

images

Penryn’s mom is honestly one of the creepiest characters I’ve ever read about. It’s never stated what type of mental illness she has but man, she is terrifying!

  1. Ariel from The Alex Crow by Andrew Smith

22466277

Check out my review here!

Ariel is an adopted refugee from the Middle East. I’ve never read a book where the main character is Middle Eastern so this was very refreshing. I’m brown, Indian to specific, and there are almost NEVER any brown main protagonists in books. I have yet to read a book where there is an Indian main protagonist. So I was pleasantly surprised to see that the main character was Middle Eastern. This book is really underrated and I highly suggest picking it up!

  1. Chubs, Zu, and Vida from The Darkest Minds trilogy by Alexandra Bracken

51GLg9YPpiL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

The Darkest Minds was one of my most favourite books from last year because I LOVED the characters (Technically Vida’s from Never Fade, but I love her so I’m including her in this). I know this is cheating because I just listed three characters instead of one, but I don’t care. I love all three of them in their own special way. I love how stubborn Chubs is, how Zu doesn’t talk, and how sassy Vida is. And can I just say that I ship Vida and Chubs SO hard. I’m STILL reading In the Afterlight so please don’t spoil anything for me.

  1. Lara Jean from To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

15749186

This is another one of my favourites from last year! This is mainly because I LOVE Lara Jean! She is half-Korean and the book explores a lot Korean cultures in it. I haven’t read P.S. I Still Love You so PLEASE don’t spoil me.

  1. Noah from I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

ill-give-you-the-sun

How can you NOT love Noah? In this book, we basically watch Noah explore his sexuality and come to terms with the fact that he’s gay. The book is ANOTHER one of my favourites from last year (are you seeing a trend here?). But seriously, if you haven’t picked up I’ll Give You the Sun yet then PICK IT UP. You won’t regret it, I swear.

  1. Maddy from Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

18692431

Check out my review here!

Ha, I tricked you! This book is a favourite of mine from THIS year. Maddy is our half-Japanese and half-African-American main character. She also has a disease known as SCID. This book is great and Maddy is a phenomenal protagonist! I 110% recommend this book to anyone, anywhere. It’s sure to bring a smile to your face!

And that’s my list! It’s a bummer that we only could choose five characters (And even then I cheated the rule). I love how YA books are becoming more diverse and inclusive as the years go by and seeing how many AMAZING diverse characters there are already makes me super excited to see how many more pop up in the near future!

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday: Diverse Characters

Leave a Reply

