September Wrap-Up

September Wrap-Up

I surprised myself this month. I somehow managed to read 6 books, which is crazy! Let’s get into the books I read!

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

download (5)

Check out my review here!

RATING: 9/10

Entertainment wise, this book is about 100/10. But unfortunately, after having a while to let the book sink in with me, I found quite a bit of flaws in this book, particularly with the characters. But that being said, this book was still AWESOME! So much happened and I loved every second of it! I’m still debating on if I liked this one more that Heir of Fire but I’m leaning more to Queen of Shadows, just because we got more of Dorian (Even though it broke my heart!).

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling

Harry-Potter-And-The-Chamber-Of-Secrets_Old-Book-Cover

RATING: 100/10

I you didn’t already know, I’m reading Harry Potter for the first time this year, but I’m keeping it slow. The Chamber of Secrets is actually my little sister’s favourite Harry Potter movie. I never quite understood that movie but after reading the book, it makes SO much more sense. I’m really starting to appreciate these movies a heck of a lot more, now that I’m reading the books.

Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma

cvr9781442419964_9781442419964_hr

RATING: 9.5/10

I’m not going to say too much about this book because I plan to do a review of it soon. But what I will say is that it made me open my eyes to how much I don’t care about what other people do. I mean this in the way that I really don’t care if you’re gay, straight, if you love your brother; it has NOTHING to do with me so it isn’t right for me to take away and dehumanize these people for being “different”. I know this is kind of an unpopular opinion, but I don’t care. If you’re not hurting anyone, physically or mentally, then I say you should be free to live your life without anyone judging you.

The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka

metamorphosis-book-cover

RATING: 5/10

Now we get into the school books… I really did not like this book. At all. The only reason it’s getting a 5/10 is because I appreciate what Kafka was trying to portray through this book. But other than that, I don’t recommend this.

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

22910900

RATING: 10/10

Check out my review here!

I really enjoyed this book! It was a funny and relatable twist on the typical YA book. I already went into a lot of detail in my review, so check that out for more of my thoughts!

A Doll’s House by Henrik Ibsen

a-dolls-house-one-sheet

RATING: 6.5/10

This was another one of my fantastic school books! While I enjoyed this one more than The Metamorphosis, it still wasn’t my favourite. I didn’t think that Nora’s story arc made much sense. But, I liked that it was feminist literature, which kind of made up for the fact that NOTHING HAPPENS. Yeah, it was boring.

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Cover_ravenboys_300

RATING: 9.5/10

Check out my review here!

So, I think I have a new favourite author to add to the collection. I LOVED this book, which mostly had to do with the fact that I LOVED the characters. Again, I go into more of my thoughts in my review, so you should check it out.

I’m currently reading The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater as we go into October, my second favourite month! Halloween is coming and I’m hoping to pick up some scary reads! Comment down below your favourite book you read in September. Mine’s a three way tie between Queen of Shadows, The Rest of Us Just Live Here, and The Raven Boys!

2 thoughts on “September Wrap-Up

  1. First off, I think it’s awesome that you’re reading Harry Potter for the first time. ^.^ So many people assume that everyone’s read them already. Yet I’m finding more and more people who are just getting acquainted to them and I can’t help but wonder if you all will join the crazed fandom of Harry Potter or if you’ll create a new generation fandom. :p Glad to hear that you liked it! (P.s. The third is my fave!)

    I’m also glad to hear all these raving reviews about the ‘Throne of Glass’ series. It’s great to see such a wide assortment of people interested in it and it makes me even more intrigued to find out what all the hype is about. ^.^

    P.s. Six books in a month is a LOT! Way to go! ^.^

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so glad that you liked The Raven Boys! It’s been a favorite of mine for a while, and I love seeing other bloggers read and enjoy it. Dream Thieves was definitely my favorite book of the series 🙂
    I don’t blame you for not liking The Metamorphosis…I read it freshman year and I don’t think I’d even give it 5 stars :/
    Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

