Everything, Everything SPOILER-FREE Review

Everything, Everything Spoiler-Free Review

I received this arc from NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review of the book.

18692431RATING

9.5/10

SYNOPSIS

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster

PLOT

This book was so great! I immediately fell in love with Yoon’s writing style, as well as the many drawings and diagrams we saw throughout the book. This made the reading experience feel interactive. We got to see our main character’s blog, IM’s, and drawings. It made the book feel super-fast paced. I mean, I finished it in ONE sitting! The last time I did that was when I read Mockingjay! Even though it’s a contemporary story, there were parts of the book that actually had me at the edge of my seat. I’m still so impressed by how the author made a person, who has basically never been outside, so relatable! The romance was literally the most adorable thing EVER! There were also a lot of darker themes brought up in this book, such as mental illness and alcoholism, which were so well done. On top of that, I’ve come to appreciate life SO much more, which is kind of cheesy to say the least, but it did. I CANNOT get enough of this book!

CHARACTERS

Nicola Yoon is a master at creating likable characters. Our main character, Madeline, suffers from SCID—a disease which prevents her from going outside. Did I mention that she is half Japanese and half African-American? Talk about representing diversity! So, for most of the book, we are with Maddy inside her house. You’d think this would get boring after a while, but the way our protagonist deals with her situation is SO fun! We get to see what she’s reading, her blog, and her journal. It almost feels like you’re reading her diary. One thing I really appreciate about her character is that she’s an aspiring architect! I’ve never read a book about someone who has the same career interest as me! It was so much fun hearing about her architecture classes from that standpoint. At about halfway through the book, we start to see Maddy break out of her bubble (literally and figuratively). It’s amazing how much character development she goes through in about 300 pages! The other characters were also very likable. I loved Olly, Maddy’s mother, and especially Carla, Maddy’s nurse. Carla’s and Maddy’s bond was one of my favourite aspects to this story, as Carla acts as Maddy’s best friend. Their relationship was so heartfelt, and the things Carla was willing to do for Maddy felt real.

MAIN PROBLEM(S)

This is a nitpick, but the ending killed me! I know, it felt right to end the story at that part, but I needed to figure out more! There was something that happened very close to the end of the story and it didn’t quite feel resolved. I know the author probably did that on purpose, though, so I’ll just get over it.

OVERALL

I HIGHLY recommend this book. The characters are captivating, the story feels original, and you might get something out of it, like I did. I would recommend this if you like The Fault in our Stars or Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour.

6 thoughts on “Everything, Everything SPOILER-FREE Review

Leave a Reply

