Penryn and the End of Days Series Review SPOILER FREE

Penryn and the End of Days Series Review Spoiler Free

penryn

RATING

9.5/10 for the series

SYPOPSIS

 It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

PLOT

The plot of these books was amazing. Susan Ee’s writing is so immersive and fast-paced. I flew through these books. The story is pretty dark and gruesome, but it was done in a way that made it bearable. I am definitely NOT the kind of person that enjoys blood and gore, but I managed pretty well while reading these books. Something about the way things were described made the story feel so real, like an angel apocalypse could actually happen. It was quite scary how whenever something was described, I could perfectly picture it in my head. There was an overall theme of acceptance in the series which flowed really well. These books are super addictive and I ended up finishing the trilogy in a week!

CHARACTERS

Oh my goodness, I am in love with all these characters! Penryn is by far the most relatable badass I’ve ever read about. She is so strong and independent, but you can always tell that she’s just a teenager. She’s just doing what she can to keep her family alive. It’s really interesting to see her as more of a mother figure than her actual mother. (I’ll get to that in a moment). She is so funny and strong and relatable and perfect and can I please just be Penryn? Of course, then I’d have to deal with her crazy mom. Penryn’s mom is SUCH an interesting character. She’s a schizophrenic with no medicine and is unable to properly care for her family. This makes her truly terrifying sometimes! Just reading about the stuff she does gives me chills. You never truly know if she’s a threat to Penryn, or just trying to help her out. And then there’s Penryn’s sister, Paige. Paige is another very dynamic character. The seven year old suffers the most! Her character causes Penryn to contemplate huge moral decisions no one should ever have to make. Let’s not forget about Raffe! It’s not so much Raffe, but Raffe and Penryn’s relationship that I love. They don’t start out as lovers, but almost as business partners, in a way. Penryn’s in it for her sister and Raffe’s in it for his wings. But we watch it blossom into so much more than that. You can just see the angst rolling off of them! A book about Penryn and Raffe at the grocery store would be entertaining! They work off of each other so well, each of their strengths playing off of the other’s weaknesses. All of the characters in this series are memorable. The twins are hilarious, the resemblance of Obi and Penryn, Uriel and the other angels being absolutely terrible, and seeing Beliel for more than we thought he was.

MAIN PROBLEM(S)

I wanted more. While I did enjoy the conclusion of the novel, it left me wanting SO MUCH MORE. I want more of Penryn and Raffe. What happened with the angels? Is Paige okay? The more I thought about it, the more I realized there was A LOT that we didn’t figure out. I have a feeling that’s because this trilogy was supposed to be five books. I think going into the series knowing that, it made it a bit better when I got to the last book. But still, I WANT MORE! Another problem, though a little one, was buying into Raffe’s character. This is only because he’s supposed to be an old archangel. He’s OLD. Penryn’s seventeen and Rafee’s been around for centuries! But, I decided I was being ageist and went along with it.

OVERALL

Overall, I highly enjoyed this series. I would as far as to say it’s one of my all-time favourite series! While I did have a few problems with the story, the fast-paced writing and lovable characters made up for it and more. If you’re in a reading slump, I would suggest these books to you. It got me out of my two month reading slump. Please at least read Angelfall, I assure you, you won’t regret it!

2 thoughts on “Penryn and the End of Days Series Review SPOILER FREE

  1. I am in love with this series! I haven’t read End Of Days yet but the second my copy shows up I plan to devour it! I can totally agree with you rating it almost a perfect 10 for the whole series – it is amazing! Great post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

