Falling Kingdoms: Books 1-3 SPOILER-FREE Review

Falling Kingdoms: Books 1-3 SPOILER-FREE Review

RATINGAllCovers

8.5/10 for all three books

SYNOPSIS

In the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.

As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed… and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.

The only outcome that’s certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?

It’s the eve of war…. Choose your side.

Princess: Raised in pampered luxury, Cleo must now embark on a rough and treacherous journey into enemy territory in search of magic long thought extinct.

Rebel: Jonas, enraged at injustice, lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country cruelly impoverished. To his shock, he finds himself the leader of a people’s revolution centuries in the making.

Sorceress: Lucia, adopted at birth into the royal family, discovers the truth about her past—and the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield.

Heir: Bred for aggression and trained to conquer, firstborn son Magnus begins to realise that the heart can be more lethal than the sword….

PLOT

The plot to Morgan Rhodes’ Falling Kingdom series is nothing out of the ordinary. It’s a typical young adult fantasy plot. However, it is done very well. These books are SUPER fast-paced, and the story becomes more complex and developed throughout each book. What really makes the series stand out are the crazy plot twists and character deaths. Honestly, NO ONE is safe in this world! That, along with the fast-paced writing and amazing characters (I will get to that in a moment), is what kept me reading.

CHARACTERS

As I was saying, Rhodes writes AMAZING characters. For me, the characters are what make this series so unique. While some characters are more fleshed out than others, they are all super exciting to read about. Let’s break down the four main characters of the series…

CLEO: Even though there are four main characters, it truly feels like we are just following Cleo’s story. Her character and story intertwine the most with the other characters. I’ll be honest; in the first book I really didn’t like Cleo that much. She was a bit bratty and I found that quite annoying. It was only after a major event occurred that I started to understand where her character was going and started appreciated her character a heck of a lot more. Another thing I love about Cleo is that she fights with her words. She doesn’t know how to use any weapons, so instead she uses words. She is VERY manipulative, and even snarky at times, but that’s what makes her so unique.

JONAS: First of all, Jonas fails… a lot. I honestly cannot remember a time when Jonas has actually succeeded one of his “missions”. The thing is, is that he fails when he starts to get cocky. This is one of my major problems with him. I love Jonas, but when he gets cocky, I can’t stand him. So, I feel like him failing is what keeps him relatable to the reader. Another major problem I have with Jonas is that he’s starting to feel useless. I just don’t care when his character shows up anymore because his storyline isn’t that important to the major plot. I mean, Rhodes was onto something with his character in Rebel Spring, book two, but I feel like that all got wiped away in the third book. So, my only hope for Jonas now is for him to become more relevant in the plot. I mean in the synopsis for the fourth book, it literally says that he’s just a pawn…

LUCIA: Have you ever read a character that you like the thought of more than the actual character? Because that’s how I feel about Lucia. I mean, how can you NOT be intrigued by a sorceress? But, I was surprisingly disappointed in the lack of character development, and overall, depth of her character. At the end of the third book, we got a glimpse of the path Lucia is going to head down, and I’m excited. After three books we finally start to see where her character is going to go. If the payoff isn’t as good as I hope, I’m going to be EXTREMELY disappointed. I’m still in shock that the sorceress is the most boring character in this series…

MAGNUS: I have no words. Magnus is bae. To be completely honest, I think the less you know about Magnus, the intriguing his character becomes. I went into this series blind, and came out loving Magnus’ character. He is, by far, the best written character in this series. We watch him struggle to impress his father, while (MILD SPOILER WARNING) struggling to deal with his “forbidden feelings” for his sister, Lucia. (The sister of the best character is the worst character, how ironic?) I don’t want to say any more about his character, except that he made this series for me. He is the quintessential antihero.

MAIN PROBLEM(S)

Honestly, I only have one major problem with this series, and that is the INTSA-LOVE. I can’t even get over how many insta-love relationships there are in these books. There is only one relationship that I’m actually invested in, and if you’ve read these books, you probably know which one I’m talking about. The problem is in the fact that these relationships playa HUGE role in how these characters progress. If you’re going to do romance that heavily affects these characters, do it well. These romances were barely developed and shoved into our faces. Luckily, I think we’re going to be getting a lot better romances in the future books.

OVERALL

Overall, I think the tumblr_nl6afzhejl1upz6mno2_400Falling Kingdoms series is a fast-paced, energetic read with lots of action and, for the most part, amazing characters. It is definitely worth a read for people diving into the world of fantasy, but probably not for people who are hard-core fantasy lovers. I highly enjoyed them and am eagerly awaiting Frozen Tides.

Leave a comment below if there are any books you’d like me to read or review.

-BooksaRica

3 thoughts on “Falling Kingdoms: Books 1-3 SPOILER-FREE Review

Leave a Reply

